

Registered Charity Number 1161254 Patron: HRH The Former Prince of Wales

Minutes of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held in the Lecture Theatre at Ness Botanic Gardens,

on Saturday 13th May 2023 at 1.45 pm

PRESENT:

Branch chairman: Ted Brabin, Secretary: Robbie Sampson, Sian Thomas, Barbara Sampson.

Savill Garden Group Leader (BH Sampson), Nick Lightfoot, Steve Lyus, Colin Mugridge, Liz Carter, Margaret Bottle, John Tallis, Ursula Reddington, Ned Lomax, Lucy Bidgood.

Present on Zoom: Graham Mills, Barry Cooke, David Millais, Rosemary Legrand, Beth Edward, Alastair Stevenson, Philip Eastell.

QUORATE?YES

The Attendees were notified in the cover page of the Chairman's Power Point presentation that the Zoom meeting was being recorded to aid Minute taking.

Ted Brabin, Chairman of this meeting, apologised on behalf of Group Chairman Graham Mills who was not able to attend this meeting. Ted then welcomed everyone and opened the meeting.

1. Apologies, 60 received from:

Charles Sale*, Sally Hayward, Emma Page, HJC Harrington, Anne Guelker, Koen Camelbeke, Joe Whelan, James Phethean, Carole Fisher, Robert Zimmermann, Keith Browning*, Peter Shotter, Pam Hayward, Tom Wood, Keith Sprague, John RE Borron, Joey Warren, Joseph Nichol, Dr DGD Vint, Mary Roberts*, John Marston, Pier Pag, Stephan Salomonsson, Jean-Pasqual Chatelard, Gerald Dixon, Pat Short, Erland Ejder, John Weigle, Barry Haseltine, Pam Combes, Monique Gudgeon, John Sanders, Rosalind Pickard, Rowan Cromwell Griffiths, Jackson Mc Carter, Sarah Bray, Leon Teeven, Theo Leijdens, Ted Herrington, Russel Beeson, Charles Williams, Jan Phethean, Andy and Jenny Fly, Ruth Tuke, David Davidson,

Keith Browning, Jackie Woodhams, JP Gellaty, Alex New*, Hans Eiburg, Everard Daniel, Martin Gates, Peter Furneaux, Polly Cooke, Barry Cooke, John Talbot, Liz Howells, Arabella Lennox-Boyd, Ashley Brent,

The 3 members marked * who sent apologies did not complete an Absentee Voting Form. All were in favour of the agenda items 2, 5, 6, 7 and 8 and none against. Of the 19 who sent in their apologies before the new Treasurer and new Examiner were voted for at the April Committee meeting 4 later adjusted their votes to take into account the result of that meeting. 43 For the motions 2,5,6,7 and 8 in the amended form and none against.

2. Minutes of the last AGM:

The last AGM was held at Ramster on Sunday 8th May 2022 at 1.45pm. The minutes published on the website were unanimously agreed, to be a true record by those present, supported by 60 Absentee votes, there were no objections. The minutes were signed as a true record by the Chairman of the meeting.

3. Matters arising:

There were no matters arising from the Minutes of the last AGM.

4. Chairman's introduction and Review of 2022

RCMG Chairman, Graham Mills, had prepared a Power Point presentation for 2022, which was displayed and narrated by Robbie Sampson. This included the Treasurer's and Independent Examiner's Reports and covered reports from Membership, Bursaries sub-Committee report by John Marston, Events, Communications, Plant Committee, Outstanding Gardens Scheme, Yearbook Editor, Bulletin Editor, Archivist, Website and Branches were included giving Branch Chairman's details as follows: International: Rama Lopez-Rivera, Ireland: Seamus O'Brien, New Forest: Rosemary Legrand, North Wales and Northwest: Ted Brabin, South East: Barry Haseltine, South West: John Marston, Wessex: Sian Thomas, West Midlands: Vacancy

NOTE: As given on the Agenda, the Trustees 'Report is available online.

5. Re-Election of Trustee:

Alastair Stevenson. Carried

6. Election of officers of the Management committee:

Secretary: Barbara and Robbie Sampson.

Treasurer: Philip Eastell. Carried

7. Re-election of officers for 2023-2024:

Chairman: Graham Mills

Vice Chairmen: David Millais and Barry Cooke

Membership Secretary: Philip Eastell

Bulletin Editor: Peter Furneaux Lead Yearbook Editor: Vacancy

Webmaster: Graham Mills

Group Communications Officer: Mark Bobin

Events Co-ordinator: Vacancy Advertising Officer: Philip Eastell

Plant Committee Chairman and Archivist: Pam Hayward

Outstanding Gardens Scheme: Nick Butler. Carried

8. Re-election of independent examiner:

Jacky Havenga. Carried

- 9. Any Other Business of which notice has been received: None
- 10: Venue and Date of next AGM

Details of the venue and timing of the 2024 AGM will be confirmed at a later date.

······

Ted Brabin announced that the recipient of the Chairman's Award 2022 was Sally Hayward for her long service and valuable contributions.

The Centenary Cup was won by Bodnant Garden-National Trust and was presented to them by The Chairman, Ted Brabin.

The Chairman, Ted Brabin, spoke about the gift to HRH His Majesty King Charles the Third, from the RCMG to celebrate his coronation. He introduced Sian Thomas, Branch Chairman Wessex, who spoke about the individual plants generously given by members of the RCMG in the North West Branch area and throughout the country.

She thanked David Millais for his hard work contacting prospective donors and bringing the collection together in such a short time.

One of Colin Mugridge's Rhododendrons was in that collection along with one from the National Trust and one from the Bodnant Estate given by Ned Lomax from Bodnant.

On Zoom, Rosemary Legrand thanked the Chairman, Pam Hayward and the Management Committee for their hard work throughout the past year. She was pleased that the initiative for the Kings Coronation present started by her donating three plants that her late father, George Hyde, hybridised.

The Secretary thanked Ness Botanic Gardens for Hosting the event. He thanked the Judges, Chris Sanders and James Armitage. Robbie then thanked Ness Reception and Catering staff and Nick Lightfoot for his IT support and always being there at moments of crisis; a calm hand on the tiller. And Finally he thanked the Chairman, Chief Steward, event organiser and friendly face, Ted Brabin. Thanks also to Angela Brabin for her photographic skills.